Ros-Turowska Duo

The captivating violin/accordion duo Ros-Turowska Duo is made up of Maria Turowska and Sofia Ros. Based in Glasgow and currently in residence at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, both are extremely proficient artists in their own solo careers. Together they perform varied repertoire including original music and transcriptions from classical composers including Manuel de Falla, Alfred Schnittke, Fritz Kreisler, Arvo Pärt and Astor Piazzolla as well as folk music.

Formed in May 2021, they have already featured as finalists awarded highly commended at the Governors Chamber Music Competition, as well as recipients of The Horace Fellowes Medal at The Edinburgh Competition Festival in 2022. As Artists with Live Music Now Scotland Now from 2023, they will be carrying out some thrilling projects in the upcoming season sharing with others the joy that is brought by music.

What they play...

Current repertoire: (70 min approx)

⁃ Johann Paul von Westhoff - Imitazione delle Campane
⁃ Manuel de Falla - Suite Populaire Espagnole
⁃ Alfred Schnittke - Suite in the Old Style
⁃ Astor Piazzolla - Le Grand Tango
⁃ Arvo Pärt - Fratres
⁃ Fritz Kreisler - La Gitana

Upcoming program (60 min approx.)

⁃ J. S. Bach - Sonata for violin and continuo in E minor
⁃ Mikołaj Majkusiak - Sonata for violin and accordion
⁃ Johannes Brahms - Hungarian Dances
⁃ Mikhail Bronner - Jewish Tango
⁃ Romanian Traditional - Hora Martisorului
⁃ Dmitry Shostakovich - 4 Preludes op. 34

Other collaborations:

⁃ Ana Sokolovic - Serbian Tango (violin, accordion, piano and double bass)
⁃ Astor Piazzolla - The seasons (accordion, violin and double-bass)
Photo by Josephine Therese De Geer
Photo by Josephine Therese De Geer
Photo by Maria Turowska
Photo by Fotografia Perez Herrero

LInks & Channels

Discover More...

We'd Love to Hear from You!

We are always happy to discuss new projects, opportunities or ways that we can help make music happen in your venue or community.